TorGuard
cescpistol

Stealth proxy vs Stunnel

Rate this question

Question

Since the update of the Windows client, I have been intrigued by the Stunnel feature. I'm a noob, so I hope somebody can explain to me, in layman's terms, the difference between Torguard's Stealth Proxy and Stunnel features? Which is better in protecting privacy, for example, when downloading torrents?

Thanks in advance.

14 answers to this question

10 hours ago, Marco said:

Hi,

Pardon my ignorance but what is TM? And I think I kinda figured it out but I don't have a proper solution. See, I followed this guide here a few months ago and as directed in step 5 I blocked all outbound connections in my Private profile.

Now, When I allow all outbound connections in my Private profile, the stunnel works. So is there something that I should allow in Private profile here in "Control Panel\System and Security\Windows Defender Firewall\Allowed apps"?

Try adding stunnel/openconnect/openvpn2.4/2.3/ss-local/TorGuarddesktopQT binaries under C:\Program Files\VPNetwork LLC\TorGuard

1 hour ago, rr0ss0rr said:

Is stunnel still needed if you are using the new tls-crypt option?

tls-crypt should be more than sufficient to bypass most dpi/firewall blocks - using stunnel is optional if you want a second SSL layer then, by all means use it, it is not "needed" in a sense to bypass blocks when using tls-crypt.

Regards

• Thanks 1

Hello,

Stunnel  is an encryption wrapper between a client and a server. It listens on the port specified in its configuration file, encrypts the communication with the client, and forwards the data to the original daemon listening on its usual port, which in our case is OpenVPN. This way we can add an additional SSL layer to the encryption you already use through OpenVPN improving the security of the service even further.

Regards